top of page
Search
  • Christina Kenkel

So You Want to Turn Your Wedding Gown into a Christening Gown? A Pep-Talk


Just the thought of it strikes terror in many a bride’s heart, even if that bride has been married for years and years. And I’ll be completely honest with you: my wedding dress (which I also made) is still (hopefully!) safe and sound in the professional dress pack I picked up from the dry cleaner over 30 years ago. But why? I’ve never had any expectations that any of my girls would want to wear my dress, so that’s not it. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but if you’re reading this, then you likely have some trepidation about the process, maybe you can relate.

So this little pep-talk is for me as much as it is for you. I’ll keep it short.

  1. If you don’t want to do it, thats TOTALLY fine! Keep your dress until you no longer need to keep it. Simple.

  2. If you DO keep your dress, do yourself the favor of preserving it or (at the very least) professionally cleaning it. You can read more about the difference here.

  3. If you decide to go for it (re-designing it into a Christening gown) but still feel too nervous to make that first snip, practice on someone else’s! Maybe you have a friend who isn’t as sentimental. Maybe you can find one for a good price on FB Marketplace or a local thrift store.

  4. If you’re not sure what to do with that practice Christening gown, check out a few ideas here.

Here are a few points with a pointier point.

  1. Did you love saying "Yes" to the dress? Your daughter will too.

  2. Are you short on storage space? Me too. And you can’t store it in the basement. Or the attic. We’ve moved that box seven times to seven different houses and how many times have I opened the lid to peek through the window? Once. One time in over 30 years.

  3. Did you have a wedding photographer? Me too. You get my point. How about a beautiful shadow box with your favorite wedding photo, some beautiful lace from your dress and a few other keepsakes from your special day. (You know you have them!) Photo Credit for above bridal photo

And a few ideas of a kinder, gentler sort.

  1. If you don’t want to keep your dress, but can’t bear cutting it up, donate it. There is a young bride-to-be out there who would be so blessed to have a wedding dress as beautiful as yours.

  2. If you do decide to go ahead with this special project, PRAY for the babies who will wear your keepsake family heirloom for generations to come. And maybe tuck a note with a photo of you wearing the dress into the box.

Whatever you decide, dear sister, I pray the Lord’s peace and blessing upon you and your family through the generations. And I’m here if you need me!




11 views0 comments
bottom of page