top of page
Search
  • Christina Kenkel

I’ve Been Down This Road Before…FIVE Things I’ve Learned Recently


Have you ever started something, but the end result was not at all what you thought you started out doing? I thought so. Me too!

In the summer of 2017, my husband lost his job. While considering options, we thought it might be the time for him to become his own boss. Amid all the research and option-weighing, I started to consider what I might do if I were to start my own business.

Fast forward several months and as he was happy in a new job, I was sitting at my sewing machine making “all the things” for a holiday boutique at our church. It felt like my “next right thing”, but it didn’t feel sustainable. Craft shows we’re definitely not the business model for this introverted Enneagram 6 wing 5.

So I pivoted “Bob Goff-style” and created a website. And a blog. I made all the things and I wrote all the things and I felt closer to home, but not homeward-bound. I knew if I continued heading in that direction, I’d end up in Australia. Did you know that if you’re only two degrees off when you’re flying, you’ll never reach your destination?

So here I am, readjusting my focus, making another “Bob Goff quarter-twist”, dreaming big and realizing I’ve learned a few things along the way.

One: I don’t have to make all the things. There are lots of great things out there, and I don’t have to make them all. HERE are some of my favorites. 🤩

Two: I can still write all the things, they just don’t all need to end up on my blog. 🤷🏻‍♀️ Turns out my posts can be pretty random. If you’d like to read them anyway, feel free to take a look HERE. 😎

Three: Even an introvert needs company on the journey. Read about Lucy & Friends HERE. And if you know another maker who could use some friends on the Entrepreneur”ship” (see what I did there?), send them my way! 👭

Four: It’s OK to ask for help. Scratch that. It’s not OK to not ask for help. 🥴

Five: I’d love to go to Australia someday. I just want to go there on purpose. 😉

p.s. I like emojis.


7 views0 comments
bottom of page